pastrycheffowler

Rats or squirrels eating my plants

so my plants have been thriving, in fact I have had several of my plants start producing multiple fruits each, one in perticular(golden russian watermelon) had 3 watermelons the size of softballs on it. all was well and then one got eaten, and the next night the other two(this was 4 days ago) now this pest is eating all the little starts of fruits on these plants, and nibbling on anything that is fruiting. no they arent taking out one fruit at a time, they are going from plant to plant and destroying all the fruits. now that I am one golden russian plant down and soon they will take out my others what can I do to stop them completely? I'm a organic farmer. and I want to stay that way.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

If you think it is rats or squirrels (or woodchucks or raccoons or other 4-footed beasties), the only thing to do is fencing. This can be cheap and easy up like deer netting, but you will never get to eat any of your produce if you don't keep the critters out and nothing but fence will do that.

pastrycheffowler

ok thanks

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

depends on fowlers location, how citified, etc. But could be anything. Melons are one of those things like corn that everyone from birds to deer to every small four footed creature under the sun likes. Raccoons would go crazy for them. I live 4 miles from downtown and have tons of raccoons, groundhogs, squirrels, shrews, voles, mice, as well as the occasional deer.

pastrycheffowler