shangib74

Question about Organic Garden

I am new to the gardening and have a question that may seem silly but honestly I just don't know the answer lol. My question is... If you have to put dust on the plants to get rid of bugs, is it still organic. I know this is a total newbie question but thats what I am lol. Thanks so much for your time.

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Dust? More information please.

Eric

DoubleDogFarm
Super Green Thumb

Marlingardener wrote:Organic gardening is basically using the most natural, least hurtful additives and "dusts" in your garden. If you are using Sevin as your "dust" I think you'd have trouble calling your garden organic. If you are using a garlic/hot pepper spray, or insecticidal soap, that is more in line with going organic.
Tell us what "dust" you are using, and if it's not organic and is fairly destructive, we may be able to suggest something that is kinder to your garden, you, and the environment.
This is from a lady who is ready to take a sawed-off shotgun to grasshoppers. It isn't organic, but it is becoming necessary!
Have you tried flour? I've read that flour gums up the mouths of chewing insects. I haven't tried, but it sounds intriguing. Maybe the shotgun full of flour. :lol:

Eric

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Tell us more and we can help more. Depending on what bugs you are talking about, you don't necessarily need to get rid of them.

If it is a destructive pest, present in big enough numbers to be really harmful, then as noted we can probably help you figure out a way to deal with it organically, that is not harmful to the environment and to all the beneficial insects you want to keep around.

Definition of organic gardening: the practice of gardening so as to increase the health, structure and life (micro and macro) of the soil and enhance the production and health of developing plants, without using synthethic commercial fertilizers, pesticides, or fungicides.