does planting food bearing plants in the ground at a new housing development pose a risk of becoming contaminated and harmfull from residual construction materials?

No, not at all.
No votes
Yes, but the friut and veggies will be fine
No votes
Yes, the plants will become contaminated and fruit and veggies will become unedible.
No votes
Stop being a hypochondriac and plant them in the ground already!
100%

Total votes: 5
morbe
Newly Registered

I'm new to Organic Gardening and had some questions.

Hello everyone my name is Mike and I live in Texas. I'm very new to gardening. Okay I know how to read the labels on the veggies and plants that I buy. Add some sun and some water and hope for the best is my level of expertise. Okay enough with the introductions.

The Background - I have a lime tree, two sunflowers, two Blackberrys, one blueberry, one garlic all growing in large pots. My lime tree has been in a pot for most of its life. (we purchased it from a nursery with limes on it). I transplanted to a larger pot that its been in for about three years now. the last two years it failed to produce any limes. My berries are growing slow and producing little. Sunflowers seemed to be fine. My wife keeps boasting that her mothers blueberries and blackberries and an orange tree they planted are all growing out of control with plenty of fruit. My wife keeps begging me to plant these plants in the ground has her mother did.

The Details - Now me and my wife both moved into a new housing development and its still in the first phase of construction. Our house today is exactly a year old! We live in the lower part of the subdivision where when it rains we get alot of a lot of run off from the constructions that are happening up the hill.