NouvelleAgriculturist
Newly Registered

Need Advice for Starting my Garden

I am new to gardening and am in the planning stages of starting my organic garden this spring. I live in Indianapolis, IN. I'm not wanting to grow anything that's crazy weird but I have a good variety. I'm planning on Root Vegetables, Beans, Chokes, Celery, Cukes, Tomatoes, and Peppers. If I have enough space I was thinking maybe of doing a vine plant like a melon or a pumpkin. I have reviewed my zoning map, figured out last day of spring frost, worked out a propigation schedule. I'm going to till and compost as soon as the ground thaws. I know I need to test the pH of my soil, and amend accordingly as to which plant requires which pH level of soil.

I'd really like to know which plants grow how and what is the most succesful pattern for planting.

I guess what I really need help with is some info about the plants, how they grow, so I could create a schematic. I was thinking about doing my beans on the "teepee" method. My cukes on a trellis, and maybe my peppers on a trellis too. Any tips, suggestions, hints, secrets, ANYTHING would be helpful. :?: :D

farmerlon
Green Thumb

It actually sounds to me like you already have a lot more things figured out (or are at least aware of a lot more considerations) than most folks that are just starting out ... so I think you're off to a fine start.

Of course, you can find lots of good information and tips just by searching here at HG.
Also, for plant specific advice, I would recommend that you have a good general (organic) gardening book on hand ... something like Burpee : The Complete Vegetable & Herb Gardener : A Guide to Growing Your Garden Organically ...
[url]https://www.amazon.com/Burpee-Complete-Vegetable-Gardener-Organically/dp/0028620054/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1294856332&sr=8-2[/url]

Best of luck! :)

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb