SherylMurphy
Newly Registered

All My Herbs Died :(

I'm very new to gardening and I seem to have killed my little herb garden :( I'm not sure how I did it, I planted basil, peppermint, parsley, rosemary oregano and thyme in little pots, each herb in their own pot, and filled the pots with coconut fiber.

The herbs all sprouted within a few days but then within 2 weeks all started to wither and are now mostly dead. I didn't over water them but I also didn't fertilize them (I didn't know if I should or not).

Am I beyond help or did I do something dreadfully wrong?

Thanks for any help you might be able to share.

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

If I understand correctly, you tried to grow herbs in coconut fiber???? If so, there is the problem. Grow them in potting soil. I just bought a new hanging wire pot for a fern and it has coconut fiber used as a liner to help with drainage but you still need to fill with soil for the plant to grow in.

applestar
Mod

There are many things that can go wrong when starting from seeds. Gumbo is right about coco fibre being questionable. I would perhaps mix equal parts milled coco fibre with potting soil.

Another mistake often made by beginning gardeners is failing to provide sufficient light for seedlings. they should grow sturdy stems with first set of seed leaves close to the top of the soil. Another frequent mistake is to sow too many seeds too close together, and failing to thin or separate them.

Although they're often sold together in kits, basil, peppermint, and parsley have very different cultural requirements to rosemary, oregano, and thyme, and should not be grown together in the same area.

Good thing about growing from seed, though, is that you can always try again. Don't be discouraged. :D

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb