rsolis251

new to this, few questions..

So I'm completely new to this, but ive decided to start a veggie/herb garden. I live in Trinidad in the caribbean so the climate is hot. Also, its the rainy season so theres moderate - heavy rains daily.

Anyways I have a section in my yard that ive been preparing for the garden. (see photos). Its mostly covered in concrete, but theres significant sections without any concrete ( like in the corner) I figure I will plant in containers on the parts with concrete, and also plant some into the earth itself where there's none. So ive spent the last few days clearing weeds/ ant nests from the areas, so now I have to prepare the actual soil for planting. I'm thinking I'll plant only vegetables on the areas that have no concrete. And then container garden some herbs and some other veggies on the concrete.
Heres where my lack of experience comes in haha. The earth that is left after taking out the weeds is muddy and full of rocks, obviously its not suitable for any planting. However, I have a huge pile of sandy gravel, and a good bit of compost (in the wooden chest shown in the pics). theres a good bit of compost but not enough to really cover it all I think. Anyways thats where I'm at so far, so questions..

Should I dig out some of the muddy rocky soil, lay down some of the sandy gravel (for drainage), get some good soil to put over that, then layer it with compost? then plant on that? Also do I do the same process in the containers (as in - gravel-soil-compost)?

Will I need any pesticide/herbicide? (I'm only using organic)

The rain here is pretty intense pretty often. I'm talkin..torrential downpours on a regular. Is that a hazard to newly growing plants? Oh also, behind the green wall in the pic is a river, so water can drain easily I think. And the rains havent ever been hard enough to over flow the river so I don't think thats a threat.