amuffledscream
Newly Registered

Purple stems on vegetable seedlings?

I started my vegetables from seed in peat pellets this year. Unfortunately, I left all my pellets outside one night and an unexpected storm blew them EVERYWHERE. Although I was able to salvage most of them, I now have seedlings that I can't identify. This is my first year really gardening, so I don't have enough experience to recognize my babies. I have a bunch of seedlings that have purple stems... I assumed they are eggplant. But from the information I've gained from the internet, eggplant stems should be green. :/ Can anyone help me out here? If you need pictures, I'd be more than happy to post some. Thanks!

applestar
Mod

By all means, post pictures, and we'll try our best. Do give us a hint and let us know what you planted though.... :wink:

amuffledscream
Newly Registered

I planted organic eggplant, organic bell peppers, organic cucumber, cauliflower, zucchini, broccoli, tomato, cow peas, green beans, and jalapeno peppers. I know it's not cauliflower, broccoli, tomato, or beans. So, that only leaves a few options. I really think it's eggplant.[img]https://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg113/amuffledscreamx/plants/plant3.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg113/amuffledscreamx/plants/plant5.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg113/amuffledscreamx/plants/plant1.jpg[/img]

I transplanted one of them into a cup (all I had available at the time) with not-so-good soil. It's doing good though. The others were planted in a pot, closely together. Don't know how or why I did that. Maybe I mixed up the seeds. =/ My only excuse is I'm a beginner! lol

applestar
Mod

It already has two pairs of true leaves and they don't look like eggplant. This potted plant reminds me of my Chocolate Cherry Sunflower seedlings....

amuffledscream
Newly Registered