LindsayArthurRTR
Green Thumb

When are my taters gonna tater?

First year I've grown potatoes...nice, pretty top growth! They are just starting to bloom. I dug one up today, thinking I would at least have some little taters... But there was nuthin! Just big roots and fine roots. Nothing even resembling a potato :( Are they gonna do anything? I planted them in late April, when I shoulda planted in early march :roll: they aren't particularly riddled with pests. They look really nice on top actually :D. I looked at several articles about growing potato, but none go really in depth about what stages you can harvest.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Sorry to hear that... This is my first year for growing potatoes too, so I don't know the answer to that question. I've been watching mine and so tempted to dig down and see what's happening. But I only have a few in a big container and I don't want to mess them up, so I'm resisting the temptation. Mine look nice and healthy but haven't even started blooming yet.

Hopefully one of the people with potato experience will come by soon!

applestar
Mod

It depends on the variety you planted -- I believe they range from 90~120 days, but the usual tip is to dig for small new potatoes when the flowers fade (I.e. finishes blooming and drops flowers). They take a fair amount of water too, so don't let them dry out but be sure the soil is well draining.

LindsayArthurRTR
Green Thumb

:D Oh good! I'm hoping I am just too early! We have been gettin ALOT of rain here! I was starting to get worried we were getting too much :( The soil is pretty loamy, it's not muddy, but it's moist :) They are just starting to bloom. I have 2 cultivars, Irish white and yellow fingerling :D I'm very excited! Thank you! (btw, I loved looking at your rice bed pictures! Very inspirational.)

ronbre
Cool Member

yes new potatoes when the flowers fade and then the big crop when the tops die down in the fall..

LindsayArthurRTR
Green Thumb