nloberle

oops...please help!

I'm very ashamed to post this but I need help...

I'm new to gardening and my garden was doing quite well and I had planned on it being an organic garden. Then the pests came in- I had aphids and those big ugly green worms as well on my tomatoes- I called my Dad and he told me I needed to use Sevin dust ( I know I know- please don't beat me up too bad) . So, I dusted the plants with Sevin last Tuesday. Fast forward a week...the plants all look kinda blah. They are not quite as green- they all have a yellowish hue. Also some of the leaves on the tomato plants are curling in and have brown areas...

I'm afraid I've killed my garden...has anyone ever had this experience before? Do you think the plants look this way because I applied Sevin?

:(

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

The timing of the problem would lead one to think so. And there is this:

"Plants: While insecticides are not usually assumed to have adverse effects on plants, carbaryl's use as a plant growth regulator (chemical thinning agent) in apples95,96 makes effects on other plants unsurprising. The following four types of effects of carbaryl have been documented in crop plants:

* Effects on reproduction. Examples include a decrease in germination success in wheat97 and decreased germination and an increase in abnormal chromosomes in vetch.98

* Effects on growth. Examples include the inhibition of seedling growth in beans,99 disrupted cell division in onion,100 distorted growth in poinsettia,35 decreased growth in peas and vetch,19 and a decrease in the weight of bolls in cotton.101

* Effects on photosynthesis. Examples include reductions in the photosynthetic rate of pecan trees102 and young soybeans.103