wwiding

New to Organic Gardening

Hey I'm new to Organic Gardening, and don't have much experience in any other gardening. I decided that I would start a garden this year, with the help of my cousin and a few other family members. I don't know how to get started, but it's going to be on my grandparents property and they don't care how much space I take up. I'm semi unemployed and can't spend a whole lot of money, but I do have shovels and other equipment around, along with old fencing to protect the area from the wild animals around here.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated, I plan on growing a lot, and sharing it with friends and family. My grandparents also raise birds so I could probably use the droppings in the gardening, even if I have to compost it first. I live in Michigan. Feel free to ask questions, and give advice. I'll keep every one updated as I go, I'm just trying to get a plan ready before growing season.

wwiding

Alright I've been looking at seeds, and I know what plants I want to grow, this may change as I do more research but for now, heres a list.

Asparagus
Yellow Beans
Green Beans
Bell Pepper
Purple Bell Pepper
Peas
Green Zucchini
Golden Zucchini
Tomato
Grape Tomato
Smell Red Cherry Tomato

I'm not really sure of the varieties of each type of plant, but heres my list any way. It seems like this would be manageable.
As it stands there will only be a few people eating off of this.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Sounds great! The peas can go directly in the ground "as soon as the soil can be worked" which for you in MI is probably pretty soon! Then provide a little trellis for them to grow on. Just sticks for verticals with strings across for horizontals is fine. If you have plenty of seeds, save some and do succession plantings, plant more 2 wks later and then more 2 wks after that, to extend your harvest.