roboclover
Newly Registered

Total Beginner to Organic Gardening...where to start?!

Hey all

I've been wanting to start gardening for a really long time...I've just always been fascinated by the concept of growing a plant, having something alive that I've taken care of and produced a result from. I think its important, to have an activity in life that produces a tangible result one can be proud of.

So I really want to try gardening; I want to grow plants. There, I said it. But, ah...where the heck do I start?

I want to grow things I can eat, mostly, or things that just look really cool. Looking around the web I've seen tons of really neat looking flowers and plants but I wouldnt want to grow the same old flowers you see in the supermarket. I'd like to try more exotic things, but...thats for later on a I suppose.

Anyhow, I need some direction guys! What should I grow first, so I can learn the basics of all this? I posted in the organic section because I'd like to do this all organically but...is it more difficult that way? Do I always have to grow outdoors? Is it a ton of work to do it indoors (I live in massachusetts, I think I'd be doing a lot of indoor growing)? Any good beginner projects? I want to have a tea plant, and I'd love to grow cucumbers and lots of other plants I can just pick up and eat. Are either of those terribly difficult to grow?

Any suggestions, any information, tips, anything would be really great and give me something to go on. This seems like a site full of very helpful people and I look forward to any guidance you guys have for me

Thanks in advance!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb