Gutholm
Newly Registered

A way to save water?

I'm sure this is a stupid question, but I'm totally new to all of this, but, If I left some buckets or a watering can or something to collect water outside, would that water be safe to use in my garden?

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

There are lots of commercialy available water capture barrels that sit under a downspout from guttering. The purpose is for watering plants and conserving water. Also, in many third world high rainfall areas, many or most of the houses are equiped with a rainfall capture system (cisterns) and that water is used for all household and garden purposes. So anyway, rainwater in general is better than most other sources, no chlorine, no hard minerals, no salts. Great idea, use that rainwater!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I've had a downspout rainbarrel for several years now and I love it. Planning to get a second one for the back of the house this year. It is good clean chemical free water, makes you not feel so bad about watering your garden. The only trouble with capturing water in open containers is you will be amazed in the summer how fast they get mosquito larvae in them. You really don't want to be a mosquito breeding ground for the neighborhood.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb