Kell1976
Newly Registered

I rent but yard has zero privacy

My husband and I have been renting our house for close to 10 years. The lack of privacy issue has never bothered me until recently. There isn't a single tree in the front yard (completely vulnerable) and the only garden bed we have is up by the porch that is about 12 feet across and 2 feet wide. I've planted pink gaura in there to get height. When ever we go out front to do anything, we're on full display. I'm a very private person and like my space. I've asked our landlord for a tree, but they said no because our lawn died. I live in San Joaquin valley and our summer this year was brutal and we were in a drought the year before so the lawn suffered. Maybe this is a landlord type subject, but I was wondering what type of plants or temporary structures would work for privacy and is landlord friendly?

akiraana
Newly Registered

I'm curious to know why it hasn't bothered you until now if your a private person?

temp. fence with vines?
Raised beds with shrubs?

Are you allowed to dig to plant things other than a tree?

applestar
Mod

As soon as I looked up San Joaquin Valley, I realized that growing conditions will need serious consideration and I'm not familiar with them, which means I'm not sure what kind of plants to suggest.

This might be a good reference:
Low Water Use Landscapes - UCCE Master Gardeners of San Joaquin County
https://sjmastergardeners.ucanr.edu/Wate ... landscapes_/
-- Is this a kind of landscaping project your landlord might approve?

What sort of privacy -- size while you are doing what in the front yard, what part of the year -- were you thinking of?