Kittyluvr400
Cool Member

Tulips

I am trying to figure out what to do adding bulbs to my flowerbed soon. I'm new at this. Planting the bulbs is not so much the issue....it's what to do after they are done for the season. If the bulbs are in a full flowerbed, what do I do if I want to plant annuals in those spots that have bulbs underneath? By planting the bulbs, does that mean I have to keep those areas free of any in ground plants so no roots form nearby, or worse, right in the same spot? If so, what if I plant the bulbs in pots, the season ends, and I now have pots waiting til the following spring to come back up again? How will those bulbs do sitting in pots through the winter? I don't have a basement ar anywhere to store the pots.

Would it just be easier, considering my ? Dilemma ? to just treat the bulbs like annuals and replant new ones every autumn? What do most people do when their bulbs are in the ground and after they have done their thing in the spring? Will the bulbs be ok with annuals being planted in the same spot above them? It is something I have to consider before those bulbs go in the ground.

Thanks for any input here.
Rose

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

The bulbs once they are dormant are fine with things, especially smallish things like annuals growing over top of them.

The issue is the "once they are dormant" part. If you want your tulips to come back next year, you have to let the leaves keep growing after the flowering is done. That is what gets energy for the bulb to be able to grow again. So you have to just leave the leaves until they get yellowed and wilting by themselves. Then you can cut them down and plant over the bulbs. If you have your tulips mixed in with other stuff, instead of just a bed of tulips, then the other stuff can help screen the tulip leaves. Or you can just plant something else in front of the dying tulip leaves.

Kittyluvr400
Cool Member