Marigold
Newly Registered

New Home First Garden!!!!

Hello

I've just moved into a new house and I am now proud owner of a tiny piece of land which I am insistent on calling a garden. Ok maybe I'm being a bit of a show off calling it a garden as it only measures approx 3 metres by 1 metre!!!

Despite the size I am determined to bring it to life in some way shape or form. I am a novice yet very keen gardener and would love some suggestions as what to do with this patch. Its at the front of the house and is edged by beautiful privet hedge about 1 metre high. What is suited to be wedged between a hedge and a house, and more importantly what will look good?

At present it just has gravel but this really isn't pleasing on the eye.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Newt
Greener Thumb

Hi Marigold,

Congratulations on your new home!! The first place to start is knowing where you live. Looking at the way you spell metres, I'm thinking you live in the UK, but you could be in Canada. Then we can find your plant hardiness zone so we will know what will survive your winters.

The next thing that will be important to know is the sun conditions.
Full sun is 6 hours or more
Part sun is 4 to 6 hours
Part shade is 2 to 4 hours of sun
Shade is 2 hours or less of sun.

You will most likely have to remove the gravel and add some organic material to the soil. Compost is great for that as it improves drainage, adds good microbes to the soil and improves the tilth (texture). You can purchase it by the bag for such a small area and you will probably need 3 bags. Here's a compost calculator. I would suggest mixing in 2" to 3", with 3" better.
https://www.cedar-grove.com/calculator.asp