MoChrio
Newly Registered

Cascading Vines - Ideas Please

Hello, I hope I'm posting this on the right thread.

We live in Long Island, zone 7. We have a large cement wall that is away from our actual house (so I'm not worried about invasive species) that I'd like to cover with vines. The wall gets decent light throughout the day. The biggest challenge is that the soil is in a bed above the wall.

I'd appreciate any thoughts on what vines I can plant that will fall down the wall. Also, I am brand new to gardening, and to this house! Do I buy seeds, seedlings, plants, how best to get this going? The wall is about 12 feet high. Can I plant vines this time of year or do I need to wait until spring time?

Thank you so much

BewilderedGreenyO.o
Green Thumb

A couple more suggestions would be..

Wisteria for some reason every single time I think of cascading vine this vine comes to mind. It is absolutely gorgeous but it gets pretty big and would most likely cover your whole wall and then some ;p

Or If you are looking for something with a lot of color and large blooms you could go with Clematis the variety in these is huge and they can also get pretty large.

Of course you will need to look these vines up individually and do a bit of research on them to be sure they would grow in the area you live :) As I'm no expert but just wanted to give you a couple more options to look at :)

Oh and it depends if you want quick results whether or not you grow them from seed or from the store. What you may want to do is go to your local gardening center and take a look at what vines they have there, maybe the gardeners there can guide you in the right direction as far as what vine to put there.

MoChrio
Newly Registered

Marlingardener wrote:Vines usually don't grow down, they grow up. If you can plant them at the base of the wall about one foot away from the wall, and attach wires or lattice to the wall so the vines can climb, that will work.