Franco

Career aptitude test

I just took my career aptitude test today in school (I'm 15) and the top choice it gave me was 1. Biologist. Followed by, 2. Food Scientist, 3. Cook/Baker, 4. Math-Science teacher. I know biology and cooking are very closely related and I LOOVE both of them.... but I don't seem to get decent grades. Does anyone know of any schools that have good science programs that wouldn't require a 4.0 (I wish) GPA to get into? I don't know much about culinary schools but do they still offer science courses?? This is something I really like and want to persue. I am a sophomore and school ends in about... 2 weeks including finals so I'm kind of running out of time to get my GPA up and I reallllyy like biology (just reiterating).

P.S. I know this post was kind of rambly but I'm sorry! I'm just scared about my future but also very excited.

Lacy

Franco,
I would say that, as a soon to be Junior, even having a general idea of what you want to do puts you ahead of the game.
I don't think that cullinary schools offer classes that aren't related to cooking, but many jr. and 4 yr. colleges offer some cullinary classes.
Also, you do not need a 4.0 to get into college. In fact, even a 2.0 or so will get you into a community college.
Lastly, chemistry, while not the easiest class, is closely related to cooking. Kind of like Alton Brown's show on Food TV.
Good Luck!

PS If you would like to get a better idea of what classes are offered where, I think most colleges post their catalog of classes on line.

Franco

Lacy thank you very much. And I watch Food Network all the time and Good Eats my favorite show!!! Alton's a great guy. Thanks for your post!!

Grey
Greener Thumb

The better your GPA, the better off you are. So don't slack, you have time to bring it up!