cwares83
Newly Registered

Help Me!! I'm a NEWbie

Ive got two Japanese Junipers which I bought from a local nursery. I am trying to keep them indoors, because I don't really have an outdoor place for them(apt.). I am having issues with them drying up pretty bad. I have also noticed a very small "gnatlike" bug flying around my trees. I see them when I am watering them. I do not have them sitting in direct sun at all. I am having trouble figuring out where I can put them in some sunlight without having a problem (1 1/2 yr old daughter). If I could just get some feedback from some more experienced indoor growers, it would be much appreciated! Thanks

kdodds
Greener Thumb

Chances are great that you'll HAVE to find an outdoor position if you want these trees to survive. Junipers, despite being popularly sold, make very poor first bonsais, especially indoors. No way you could know that, of course. Your best bet will be to do what I did when I lived in an apartment in the city, find a window sill and place them outside. Bulid something to secure them if necessary. You can bring them in once in a while for enjoyment, but never for more than a day or two. You'll also need to build some type of shelter on the sill for winter keeping. If that sounds like too much work, perhaps you should sell them or give them away and maybe look into a more appropriate indoor tree? The various Ficus spp. make excellent first indoor trees.

cwares83
Newly Registered