zeeshan112
Cool Member

Juniper bonsai first try

Hi friends,

I am a beginner and this is my first attempt at Juniper bonsai. Looking at the pic, could you please share your feedback as to what you think about this? What can be corrected and how? I am going to put it in a bonsai pot tomorrow.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Attachments
Bonsai.jpg

plant_drew
Newly Registered

Looks good! I'm a novice to bonsai also and am currently working on 2 junipers. FWIW Here's my two cents - do you want it to stay at it's current size? If so then go ahead and put it in a bonsai pot after shaving off 1/3 of the roots. If not then wait to put it in a small pot until it's the size you'd like.

You also might use wire to shape the trunk and branches to a shape you like. Otherwise it will grow at random and may end up looking less like a tree and more like a bush. Looking at yours...I might straighten out the two lower limbs to give the tree a more triangular shape and maybe add some bend to the trunk if it's malleable enough. I think if you water it first the branches will be less likely to snap when you shape them... keep us posted!

imafan26
Mod