Mataus
Newly Registered

First time pruning and wiring

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. I have taken a sudden interest in the art of bonsai recently. So I had some juniper in the ground for about 5 years and decided to dig them up and prune them and start to train them. I brought some training pots from my local bonsai shop pruned the roots back a bit didn't touch the main rootball as didn't know it it would harm the tree too much but trimmed the other roots. Replanted it in bonsai soil and started to style the tree. I didn't have wire to hand so I had to strip electrical wire and use that, should be ok shouldn't it? I was reasonably happy with how they look. What do you guys think? Please bear in mind this is my first attempt and am very keen to learn. I'm sure in time I will progress!!! Is there any special thing I need to do now they have had such massive shock? Other than leaving them and letting them grow. Any help will be greatly appreciated and I look forward to you comments
Attachments
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

imafan26
Mod

Usually copper wire is used because it is easy to bend and it can be reused. If not aluminum wire can be used. It is a little harder to work and usually a lot of work to straighten.

When you cut a lot of roots and put a plant in a shallow pot it is easier to wire the plant in. If you have a pot with two drain holes run the wire from the bottom to the top and anchor the wires on top of the bonsai. Once the plant is settled in the pot you can remove the wire.

You would use wires of different gauges for different size branches ropes, wires and fishing weights are used to pull branches down. if you want to control a bend you wind the wire around the branch like a lose coil and then you can manipulate the wired branch easier into the desired shape and direction. Just make sure the wires are removed before they cut into the branch or they will leave scars in the bark.

https://www.bonsaiempire.com/basics/styling/wiring