heso
Newly Registered

Selecting a branch for air layering

I'm brand new to bonsai, and I'm quickly falling deep down the rabbit hole.

While I wait for my Japanese Maple seeds to germinate (I'm in for the decades long haul with these, I know) I want to get something that I can start playing with, learning the techniques, etc.

When I first started reading about air layering I didn't realize how small of a section of tree most people were looking at. Once I read some one point out that their main focus of the branch was only the first 6 inches, it really changed my perspective on what to look for in a branch (soon to be trunk).

All of that to say that I just bought a house with a nice choke cherry (I think, it just blossomed a couple weeks ago) tree in the yard.

I'd like some feedback regarding how you go about selecting a section for air layering. There is a section of the tree that is starting to encroach on the house so I thought it would be a good opportunity to get my feet wet with air layering and not have to worry about what happens to the branch.

Here is the section that I am looking at taking from:

What branches stick out as interesting to you? If this was your tree, how would you approach taking a section of material?

Additionally, once the section has been removed, is it typically put into the ground for a period of time to encourage root production and branch growth, or into a pot?

heso
Newly Registered

These are some sections that caught my eye after a few minutes of looking at the tree.

Can you see any immediate pros/cons of those sections?

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

heso,

It's really hard to tell anything without being there. Look for a section that is unique, if it's not something with an interesting shape it's not worth the effort, except for practice.

I always plant my layers in pots. The roots will need time to become established and at least partially refined before I would set them out.

heso
Newly Registered