JMH
Newly Registered

Golden Gate Ficus

I have just aquired a Golden Gate Ficus from a fiend of mine as a gift. It is about 10 years old according to the literature that came with the tree. My questions start with...

1.) What is the growing season for this type of tree?

2.) When and how should you prune it so that it become richer with growth and fuller canopy? How do you trim the leaves and when do you trim them so that they regenerate in mutiples (I know there is a word for this but cant think of it)

3.) Do they drop their leaves durin the winter eventhough they are considered a tropical indoor tree.?

I am new at this so be kind!

Thanks
JMH

Also do you need to have a humidity tray underneath this type of bonsai?

Striferitus
Cool Member

Ficuses are Tropical and dropping leaves during winter is sorta bad cause that means it has been exposed to colder temps that what it usually gets this happens cause ficuses do not like temp change so your best bet would be keeping it inside under a light. jAs for the pruneing goes qait for gnome to answer that.

JoeLewko
Green Thumb

Sine you will be keeping it inside in the winter, a humidity tray is necessary. The heat we heat our homes with is very dry, and a humidity tray helps keep everything nice and, well...humid :wink:, which tropical trees need. I would also advise misting once or twice a day if possible.

Also, keep it away from any drafts.

Joe

P.S. The growing season is year-round, although I find that growing does slow down in the winter.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

JMH,
When and how should you prune it so that it become richer with growth and fuller canopy? How do you trim the leaves and when do you trim them so that they regenerate in mutiples (I know there is a word for this but cant think of it)
The word you are searching for is 'ramification', the process where one shoot becomes two, etc. etc.