David Rosado
Newly Registered

Chrysanthemum - Japanese Bonsai?

I am new to this blog, but not so new to the bonsai world.

I am interested in working on chrysanthemums for bonsai. I've seen them on ancient japanese prints, as twin trunk and cascade style. Can anyone tell me what specific type of mums are used and how can I get started on finding material (pre-bonsai) to work on?

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Dave,

I spent a few years trying to work with Mums. I doubt that you will find any sold as pre-bonsai. The way this species is handled is to take cuttings in late summer or fall. The cuttings are overwintered and even though the tops die back, the roots are used to establish a new plant the following spring. It is this plant that creates the actual bonsai. This is repeated the next year with new cuttings

On the other hand it is possible to continue with the old trunk for more than one year although this is a bit unpredictable.

If you are truly interested in this endeavor I strongly suggest that you acquire the volume "The art of the chrysanthemum" by Tameji Nakajima. I believe it is now out of print but can be obtained through on-line booksellers. This is where I purchased mine.
[url]https://www.abebooks.com/servlet/SearchResults?sts=t&an=nakajima&y=0&kn=chrysanthemum&x=0[/url]

Here is a source for suitable varieties although I have attempted this with locally available types. Click on the 'varieties' link and scroll down a bit.

[url]https://www.kingsmums.com/[/url]

Norm

David Rosado
Newly Registered

Norm:

Thanks for your quick response. I sent an e-mail to the mum vendor to see about older mum stock.

If I got the jest of what you wrote, I am to cut large branches from the "donor" mum, during early fall, and plant them where they won't suffer the extreme cold of winter and repeat this process again next year, is that correct?

confused,
David

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Dave,