merlinluver
Newly Registered

mealy bugs

A Jade plant in my house had root mealy bugs, I am a slight novice at pests, so I hadnt recognized the signs. I got rid of the tree,(the poor thing had only one small root), and now I am wondering if my Ficus could have been infected as well.

The Jade Plant was in the same room as the Ficus, actually with in three feet of the ficus. When I researched about Mealy bugs one source said that the larva could crawl to another plant.

I see no cotton webs, or bugs on the leaves, but one source said that an early sign was slower growth of leaves and shoots. The problem... I don't know the average growth of ficus. So I need help to know if I do have another plant infested with mealy bugs.

drzaiusx11

I've never had a mealy bug problem, but in my research of tree pests I've read that rubbing alcohol kills them (alcohol acts to suffocate them)... but I'm not sure that works for mealy bugs on the roots. I can guess that alcohol would be very bad for a plant to absorb through its roots :?:

PS. jade plants are pretty hardy from my experience, next time it might be worth cutting the tree above the infected root system and replanting in clean "soil". I recently took some singular leaves from a jade and planted them and now they're several inches tall, so they apparently re-root very easily :D

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

merlinluver,
A Jade plant in my house had root mealy bugs,..I see no cotton webs, or bugs on the leaves,
Nearly all of my trees that are outside have Mealy bugs under the pots and they don't seem to cause much trouble. Are you sure that they are causing a problem for you? Have you tried to simply remove them by hand?

Norm

merlinluver
Newly Registered