Striferitus
Cool Member

Growing Bonsai From Seed

Hi I am 18 and I have purchased a bonsai that I have no clue what it is but I have dreamed of growing a bonsai from scratch ever since I heard of the word bonsai. I am a novice, But I am looking to grow a Japanese Red Maple from seeds. what would be the best soil, climate to start, type of pot, and what should I do to ensure that it will most likely sprout.

MartyWakat

I also am starting to grow some Bonsai's from seeds and a Maple is in my batch of trees. There should be instructions as to the stratification of the seeds and then the proper sowing. Mine are curenly being startified and should be ready for sowing in a month or so. My instructions called for some sterilized potting soil and perlite as the mix for soil. It will change once I am ready to plant the seeds, but there is a month left of stratification before the seeds are ready.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Striferitus,

Welcome to the Helpful Gardener, Please post some pictures of your current tree and we will try to identify it.

Growing bonsai from seed certainly can be done and some feel it is one of the best ways to do so. A big advantage with this method is that you are able to put the effort into developing a good radial root system that is so often missing in nursery material. Growing from seed, while rewarding, is about the slowest route to a 'finished' bonsai there is. Indeed, this is a very long-term project, with much time spent doing nothing at all.