shimbu

Very Typical - New bonsai, need help with Serissa foetida

Hello!

Brand new to to the site. Great to be around some seasoned bonsai keepers!

I'm very new to keeping a bonsai, although very enthusiastic, and I've read up quite a bit. Unfortunately, like many, although buying my bonsai from a very elderly Japanese couple, didn't get any literature with mine. I have a few pictures here, could you help me Identify it, and although I have books, some pointers of pure experience wouldn't hurt as well.

https://www.danielboonerodandgun.com/plant/S5001196.JPG
https://www.danielboonerodandgun.com/plant/S5001197.JPG
https://www.danielboonerodandgun.com/plant/S5001198.JPG
https://www.danielboonerodandgun.com/plant/S5001199.JPG

Thanks!

Shimbu - Movement within Stillness.

ynot
Greener Thumb

shimbu wrote:Hello!

Brand new to to the site. Great to be around some seasoned bonsai keepers!
Welcome Shimbu 8)
...{snip}
didn't get any literature with mine. I have a few pictures here, could you help me Identify it, and although I have books, some pointers of pure experience wouldn't hurt as well.
No lit is sadly typical in many cases :evil:, Keep reading and researching - Your tree will be all the better for it.

You don't mention any titles of your books, But do look up your {blooming 8)}Serissa foetida in them. Also see here:
https://www.bonsai4me.com/SpeciesGuide/Serissa.html

Check the stickys at the top of the forum as well as the site below for some excellent articles, See here:
https://www.bonsai4me.com/Basics.html
Many will be useful to you but start with the beginners articles as well as the ones on watering, Soil, Indoor culture and go on from there.

There are photo tips available [url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3557]here[/url] for when you are ready to show it off or to compare progress.

If you want to see some bonsai inspiration Look here: https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3557

ynot