maughanbonsai
Newly Registered

Need advice on newly purchased Chinese Elm

I am brand new to owning a bonsai. I recently bought a tree from a vendor set up on the side of the road, and received a little advice which was hard to understand (his english was broken), but he obviously had a nursery judging from the volume of trees.
I have started looking online for advice and books but there is sooo much info that I'm not sure what to do and feel everyday is crucial at this point! I will try to keep this as short as possible!
The tree was marked as an Elm, through research, I think it is a type of Chinese Elm, but not sure! I bought it the end of May. I asked if I could keep it indoors and was told no, which makes me think it was an outdoor tree before I owned it. I decided to try to convert it to indoors which may have been a very bad idea! It was placed in a corner by my sink which receives direct sunlight from two windows from the south and west. I will post a picture of it I took when the leaves started to come in, and one of it now.
I made sure the blinds were open during the day so the tree could get sunlight, and took it outside every other day for a few hours, sometimes in direct sunlight, sometimes not, depending on the time of day, hoping this would help the tree adjust to its new home.
It looked to be coming out of dormancy when I bought it, since the weather was just starting to get warm. I live in Salt Lake City, Utah, which is very low humidity with winters averaging 20° and summers around 100°. Since I think the tree was grown in Utah, the hot weather right now may not be new to this plant. It started sprouting leaves about two weeks after I bought it, after using a liquid fertilizer I was given from the vendor called Mogreen 5-10-20 mix. I was told to insert a bottle every other month near the back edge of the pot. It drains very slow, takes about three weeks until the bottle is empty, not sure if this is normal.