The Bonsai
Newly Registered

New Juniper Bonsai. Have Questions

Hello,

I purchased a Bonsai tree about 1 - 2 weeks ago (todays date is 5/31/07) and have been taking care of it as instructed on the "care card" that was attached. But I have a feeling the the woman at the garden shop was clueless. So I checked google and got a a ton of different care tips, which led me to create this blog. I am a beginner at this so bear with me. I have tons of questions that need answering to help my Bonsai grow. First let me tell you what I have been doing to taking care of my Bonsai. I have a Juniper Bonsai which I belive to be 3 years old. I keep it out on my pourch in full sunlight as instructed. From what I read this is correct. I water it every day, about half a cup to a cup of water. Now I have read that you do not need to water it every day. They say you should stick your finger about half an inch to an inch into the soil and if it feels moist then your good. Okay now on with the questions. First Question - My Juniper Bonsai is about 3 years of age, how often should I water it and how much? Does it matter how much I water it (a cup, half a cup)? Second Question - This "Care Card" says I should keep my Juniper Bonsai outside in full sun for about 4 days, then bring it inside for the remaining 3. I don't think this is right. From what I have read it says to keep it in full sunlight all week. Is the "Care Card" right or am I right? Third Question - I have noticed that some of the little leaves are turning brown on the tips, what does that mean? Is it because I don't water it enough, because of the heat, or is it natural? Fourth Question - As I have been inspecting my tree every day I also noticed that the branches have little leaves or spicky leaves on them. Some of those look brown and I don't know what to do. Is this natural or from the lack of water? Fifth Question - As I water my Bonsai everyday I started to notice that the roots from the tree are starting to stick out from