floraAdore

Patience, a virtue not necessary! (Kind of. . .)

I'm new to bonsai (& this forum!). Since I got my 1st tree 6montgs ago, I read everything I can, have bought more trees :>, books, tools of the trade, etc. my husband (who has no other choice but be engulfed by bonsai as well) quipped "You don't have the patience!" True, patience is a quality I lack.
Today I came across a quote I thought appropriate! Frank Okamura answered, when ppl would lament they didn't have the patience, he'd say "Patience is what you need when you don't like what your doing." I 2nd that!! (although the anticipation IS killing me!!)

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Re: Patience, a virtue not necessary! (Kind of. . .)

Styling care, leaf and bud pinching, soil scavenging, pot rustling, wiring, and the other unlisted two-kajillion chores we've not talked about can each take more time than simply coppicing and potting up a tree.

Better you have time to draw out how you might want to develop your stock, than have too many trees to give them the care they need.
Think like a tree
© 2016 Invisable Inc.

floraAdore

That's exactly what I was working on last night!!! I consider myself a fairly artistic person; and w/ bonsai always on the brain it was natural progression to start drawing them. Only yesterday though did I start sketching one of my trees, a young serissa I'd like to grow literati style. I've read & it seems this style is often accomplished w/ conifers. I'm a novice, some ppl might think this is silly perhaps!
Learning curve, ahead! :>
Drawing the tree, in my opinion is vital to the progress of the tree. I explained it to my husband, "it's like putting together a puzzle, far easier to look at the cover of the box as you go instead of working blindly." That's how I feel anyway. It's really helped me figure out what's next, a sense of space.

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Watching your tree(s), and drawing how you think they will grow, may lend itself to where to prune--wire next.