LiddleBuddha
Cool Member

Fertilizer Questions...

Hello all...

(I posted this topic/question elsewhere, but everyone here is always super helpful so I thought I'd post it here as well!)...

I am wondering about the application of fertilizer. (Yup, I'm a total naive newb! hehe..) Basically, I'm unsure of whether I mix fertilizer into the soil, apply on top of soil, add to water, etc. If anyone could kindly provide advice to me on how/when/how much I'd greatly appreciate it!

Here's what fertilizers I have so far:
- I'll be getting some balanced 10-10-10 or 20-20-20 fert from a nursery this weekend (Any recommendations would be totally appreciated!)
- 1 bag of Bone meal
- 1 bag of Blood meal

I can't find Hoof & Horn meal anywhere. Does anyone know where I can find this, by chance?

I'm sure that fertilizing methods and uses depend on soil mix used, tree, environment, etc. I'm going to mix a few recipes and try them out, based on a very helpful and informative article I read.

Below are the bulk components that I'll have at my disposal for mixing my own soil:

- Turface MVP
- Haydite
- Decomposed Pine Bark
- Pool Filter Sand
- Pea-Grit (Gravel)
- Miracle-Gro "Moisture Control" potting mix
- Micro-Plus from Hollow Creek

I'm also picking up a 50lb bag of Chicken Grit from a local feed mill this weekend.

I realize that there is an ongoing debate about the upsides and downsides between organic and inorganic (<-- proper term?) fertilizers. So I'm completely open-minded. Since I'm just starting out, I am considering trying organic ferts on some trees and inorganic on others and seeing how it goes. Dunno.

I think that's it for the moment. Much appreciation, in advance, for any help, advice, suggestions, etc.

Best Regards,
LiddleBuddha

constantstaticx3
Green Thumb

Well as too the fertilizer, Phil addressed that at BC, just follow the directions, very good advice by the way.