carolc
Newly Registered

new bonsai-er

I'm just getting started with bonsai. I just bought a small ( 1 ft. ) sycamore tree from my local nursery. Not sure where to start. Should I cut the top first or prune the roots first? Pinch the leaves? I know it will have to be outside during the winter, but if it gets to cold here in Ohio, should I bring it in for a few days? Thanks for any advice. carolc :roll:
carol needs help

Gnome
Mod

Carol,

Hello and welcome. Putting aside the suitability question, which is not insignificant, you seem to be falling into a pitfall that is all too common for new bonsai enthusiasts. You are starting with very young/immature material from which it will take a very long time to create a credible bonsai.

Since you are just starting out why not take a step back and use this winter to do more research on suitable species and bonsai techniques. Two quick hints; look for species with smaller leaves and try to find something with a larger, within reason, trunk. In short rather than put a lot of effort into marginal material you are in the perfect position to leap ahead in your efforts in bonsai by starting with better material.

I'm sure some of the others will have more to say.

Norm

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It is very cold hardy. Worst thing you could do for it in the middle of a cold winter would be bringing it in to a heated house. Huge change it isn't adapted to, might trigger it breaking dormancy. It is an outdoor tree.

As Gnome says, I wouldn't be in too big a rush to do anything to it. The art of bonsai is patience. Let it sit and thicken up while you look at it and learn about bonsai and develop a vision of what you want for your tree.

Sycamore may not be the easiest bonsai, but not impossible. But remember what you are trying to achieve is an image of a mature tree in miniature:

[img]https://farm4.static.flickr.com/3073/2891835167_f12384cafd.jpg[/img]