hope_full
Newly Registered

Went to a nursery today, need help choosing starter bonsai

Hey guys beginner here. Went to a nursery some saw cool trees I could see myself buying but I was hoping I could get some input on a couple things.

I was told ficus is a good tree to start out with so I made sure I checked them out. I found one with a really nice trunk but the leaves were really high up and about as big as my palm. Is that something I could work with? I belive the kind of ficus is ficus lyrata. I looked it up and they are known for their large leaves. I just wanted to know if anyone has had success dwaring the leaf size enough for it to be bonsai-able. Here is two pictures, the first one of the trunk and the second one from farther away where you can see the leaves. https://imgur.com/EDdPI and https://imgur.com/bf7kH

Then I saw some shrubs that I couldn't identify but was in the household plants section. The leaves were really dense and small and it already looked like a little forest. The trunk was a little thin but there were several trunks so it might be a good idea to buy so I could have several bonsai going at once. here is two pictures the first one of the trunk and then a farther away shot of the foliage. https://imgur.com/YCE3h and https://imgur.com/OTEa8

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

hope_full,

One of the first things to consider when choosing a tree for bonsai is the leaf size and how well it will, or will not, reduce. There are other Ficus species that are much more suitable, such as [url=https://www.bonsaihunk.us/info/ReductionBuilding.html]Willow Leaf Ficus.[/url]

The others may also be some sort of Ficus but with the pictures provided that is very much just an impression. The trunks are unremarkable, so be careful not to overspend. I once purchased a small pot of F. benjamina 'Mini Lucie' for under $10.00 that had three decent starters in it.

Welcome to the forum.

Norm

hope_full
Newly Registered

Norm,