Brooke110
Newly Registered

Bought Mallsai Fukien Tea...Now what?

I am a college student and have always wanted to grow a bonsai tree ever since I was little. Today, while shopping at Walmart, I saw one for only $10, so I couldn't resist. Once I got back to my apartment, I decided to do some research on the species I purchased, Fukien Tea. After browsing the internet for a few minutes, I quickly realized, to my disappointment, that I had purchased a Mallsai.

I know many of you in the bonsai community look down on the Mallsai. However, had I known that's what I was getting myself into when I was buying this tree, I would have waited a few years until I graduated college and saved the money to go to an actual bonsai nursery instead. Regardless, I want to learn more about bonsai, and this is apparently how I'm going to get my start.

I read that I need to remove the glued rocks and moss, which I have done. I also clipped some of the new flowers to help reduce stress on the tree. What are some other steps that I should take to help my tree survive?

Thank you so much for reading this and helping me out.

kdodds
Greener Thumb

Put it outside before it dies and set up a terrarium for it to winter in before it has to come in from the cold.

SvetSad

If you can not provide A LOT of artificial light for it, then it should go outside while it's warm, but once it starts getting cold, it will need to go indoors.

I too bought a Fukien Tea Tree from walmart few months ago, but I've repotted mine since then, and now I'm considering doing an air layer to get rid of the "S" trunk.

My tree is very happy, I've read a lot of negative things about how that tree is NOT good for indoors or beginners, but so far I have had 0 issues with growing it. But, soon all my indoor trees will be going outside.

Before my walmart mallsai was re-potted, it was in peat looking soil, and I only had to water it about once a week, sometimes even 8 or 9 days.

good luck with it!

rainbowgardener