nickmyster16
Newly Registered

New to Bonsai, wanting to get started

Hey everyone I'm looking to get started in this fantastic hobby of bonsai. I've got plenty of experience in growing things and have quite a "green thumb", however I've never done trees before, other than persimmon...

I live in Indiana so the type of bonsai I can grow will be sort of limited I am guessing, however I was wondering what you recommend me to start out with. I am limited on budget but I was wondering if you would recommend starting out with a seedling that I start from around here? Or something cheap to buy...
I'm looking forward to learning and growing as a bonsai enthusiast along with you all.
Thanks for any tips you may have for me :)

linlaoboo
Green Thumb

Yes, start something that grows in your region will be better for the tree's survival. Think about if you have space for outdoor trees in addition to indoor ones. I'd recommend starting out with ficus starter trees. They are cheap to buy and grow like crazy. I leave them outside from May to October. I propagate them from cuttings and air layers and I need to move from my condo to a single family home so there's space for them.

nickmyster16
Newly Registered

ok.. so for something around indiana that would work..... anyone know where to find this? or should I just find a sprout of a maple tree or something? heh .. sorry I can't find anything when I search indiana bonsai trees.. other than clubs and stuff.

SvetSad

Any tree can be made into a bonsai. there are many different type of trees in Indy that can be used. I think maples aren't very good trees for beginners. But why not give it a try and see what happens, if it dies... oh well onto the next.....

And with good indoor light, you could have a tropical tree

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Blueberry, both upland and lowland cultivars. Quince, all. Japanese maples, all. Shorter needle spruce, like picea glehnnii. White oaks. Azalea with smaller leaves. Boxwood. Bald cypress. Larch.