LARRY1
Newly Registered

bonsai beginner (yet another one)

This is my first post and I would like to start by saying Hello to everyone on the Forum

I am an absolute beginner, even to the point of not currently having a Bonsai tree at all, and this brings me to my question. I live in London and I would like to buy two or three Bonsai trees and would be extremely grateful for any advice as to what type of tree or trees to buy, what age the trees should be. As I am a beginner (with two young boys) I think that maybe it should be something quite robust and hardy in order for it to survive my initial attempts at caring for it. I would like to keep the trees inside but from reading some of the posts I understand that this might not be the best path to follow (but then again, what do I know), any advice you can give me about what trees to buy, where to buy them and where best to keep them will be greatly appreciated :)

Larry

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Larry,

Hello and welcome to the Helpful Gardener, I hope that your stay here will be fruitful. I would like to commend you for asking for advice before you buy, far too often we get people here who have purchased a tree and then seek advice, putting the cart before the horse.

I would like to keep the trees inside but from reading some of the posts I understand that this might not be the best path to follow (but then again, what do I know)
There are suitable trees for indoor culture but even those species that tolerate being kept inside will benefit greatly from a vacation outside during the summer. Other trees belong outside year round, so the first thing you need to do is clarify in your own mind what you want from bonsai. Will you be able to provide a spot outside for your trees?