BaronOsiris

Repotting my Brush Cherry/Eugenia

I'm a beginner and I have some questions about repotting.

Currently my little tree is in a neat looking pot that it came with it from the store. From what I understand from reading books and posts online if I want my bonsai to grow considerably from its current size I would need to repot it into a larger pot. See here for current pictures https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4246&highlight=

So I would like some advice on a few things.

Am I correct in thinking that it needs to be in a bigger pot to grow larger? What size pot should I consider? Are there dangers to using a bigger pot?

According to this website: https://www.bonsai-bci.com/species/eugenia.html It says I should use a bonzai mix or an acidic mix like azalea soil. I don't know of any garden shops in my area that sell bonzai mix. And Home depot doesn't sell azalea soil. The closes thing I could find there was Miracle-Gro® African Violet Potting Mix - Specialty soil formulated to meet the needs of acid-loving African Violets. Not sure if that would do the trick.

Any suggestions on what type of mix I should get? Would I be better off mixing my own?

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Baron,
Am I correct in thinking that it needs to be in a bigger pot to grow larger?
Your tree will always be growing of course but if you want to dramatically increase its size a larger pot will be of great benefit.
What size pot should I consider? Are there dangers to using a bigger pot?
An excellent question, and yes there are dangers to using a greatly over-sized pot. A large volume of medium that is not colonized with roots leads to an overly wet condition that in turn can lead to root problems. A less obvious problem is that by keeping the medium constantly wet the medium itself will break down and collapse much quicker, necessitating more frequent re-potting.