Jeetro
Newly Registered

My first Bonsai!

Hello, me being a "bonsai-father" for the first time, i've got some basic questions i hope one of you guys could help me with... :roll:

1. Can you "trim" all kinds of branches, or are there a limit to how big the branches can be in order to have a "successful trimming"? :)

2. The soil seems a bit clay'ish (it's very compact), is that the way it should be, or is this reason enough to change to some "newer" soil?

3. There are also a lot of moss on the showing roots of my little Bonsai, could this cause the roots to rot (i've seen this on different "trees"), or could i just leave it as it is for now?

Sorry if these questions come out as stupid, but like i said, I'm new at the "bonsai-game" :)

Jeetro

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It's very difficult to give you much help without knowing what kind of tree you have. Juniper? Chinese elm? Fukien tea? something else?

A few pictures would help also. Instructions for posting them are in New to Helpful Gardener? under Helpful Tips and Suggestions for New Members.
Twitter account I manage for local Sierra Club: https://twitter.com/CherokeeGroupSC Facebook page I manage for them: https://www.facebook.com/groups/65310596576/ Come and find me and lots of great information, inspiration

Jeetro
Newly Registered

And here's a picture of my little tree :wink:

[img]https://i1242.photobucket.com/albums/gg531/Jeetro/Bonsai28feb2012.jpg[/img]

Ps:If you could tell me what kind it is aswell, if would be awesome! :)

Jeetro

SvetSad

That looks like a Fukien Tea (ehretia microphylla).
They like LOTS and LOTS of light. If you search this fourm, you will find a lot of information, also u can google it.
I'm a new to bonsai myself so i can't anwer your questions with confidence. but here's what i can tell you... and someone else may come along and correct me, or provide better info.