MissyNeedHelp
Newly Registered

New Bonsai Tree owner needs help with what's next!

Hello!
I received a beautiful 13 year old Bonsai Tree and I need help ... I believe it is a ficus tree ... any advice on watering, pruning, feeding and loving would be amazing. My tree has an awesome personality seen through its growth and I want to help nurture and nourish the little guy so we can successfully hang for a long time! THANK YOU in advance for your help!

[img]https://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/382901_294307007288652_100001280653551_938188_1285490224_n.jpg[/img]

TomM
Greener Thumb

MISSY, Welcome.

Boy do you have a nice ficus bonsai or what? Very nice! :D

OK - you're in Las Vegas, a place with it's own particular climate, and A/C.

I'm not a ficus expert but I do have some advice.
FIRST - go here and read up on basic bonsai culture with particular attention to ficus topics - it is a very important area of this group of forums. NEWBIES should be required to spend some serious time over in the learning library before proceeding with their journey -
https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=36

Then please get acquainted with the number #1 ficus guru in the US and pay good attention - Jerry Meislik https://www.bonsaihunk.us/

Best of luck with your wonderful gift and stay in touch.

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Nice fig. FWIW most folks spend their first few years reading stuff about our beloved tree-children, and then reading our tree children them selves.

Raid the resources here.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm just going to agree, that I hope you take it seriously that this is a real commitment and you need to do some real study not just send in a few questions.

Santa spent some big bucks on this (unless he was a bonsai grower himself in which case he spent years of his time). E.G.:

https://www.joebonsai.com/bonsai-trees/ficus-bonsai-trees-1/nursery-direct-green-island-ficus-bonsai-tree-ii.htm

luigonz

CHECK the soil!