blackcondor1
Newly Registered

I am a newbie, please help

Hi folks,

I am a newbie at Bonsai.

One of the two Bonsai I have is a Juniper Squamata Prostrata 2006 which I have had for about about 2-3 months.

I try to water it as it needs, although, judging from what I read in this forum a couple of days ago, I have not been watering it correctly - I only have been pouring water on it until the water comes out of the bottom of the pot, but not repeating the watering after 15 minutes.

I have changed the way I water now.

The problem I have: one of the big branches is almost completely brown and looks dead. Another couple of branches look dull green - like they are wilting or something? And one very minor branch is nicely green and is growing new leaves.

I also did not know until now that I am supposed to feed my bonsai every fortnight in spring/summer. Today I fed both of my bonsai for the first time ever since I have bought them, with bonsai fertiliser I bought.

Is there anything I can do to make my Juniper "feel" better? My other tree is a Zelkova Serrata - a hardy tree which seems to be doing very well.

kdodds
Greener Thumb

I'm guessing here that the tree is being kept indoors. There is 0 hope for any juniper kept indoors where "indoors" is not a greenhouse (unheated to cool). Even if you were to move it outside, I fear it is already too late. Junipers can look "lively" for a long time past dead. IOW, it takes quite a while for needles to brown and drop, and the tree is usually long dead before that happens. If you want to keep juipers, they HAVE to be outside. If you want a bonsai inside, it can't be a juniper.

blackcondor1
Newly Registered

Hi kdodds,

Thank you for your reply. Both of the trees are actually kep on my balcony. I think the balcony is facing West. It has a roof and walls but has one open side through which both air and light come in.

But I just realised another possible problem: it has little pebbles covering the top of the pot.