gbhunter77

air layering

I have a wonderful Japanese maple. However the point where the J.maple was grafted in is pretty far up the trunk. Would air layering work or should I use another maple and graft a branch in. Also if air layering is a good idea, when should it be done.

Fig3825

I'm not an expert, but I successfully air layered a crape myrtle this season. Based on my research, Jap Maples are tough to propogate by layering but it IS possible. I haven't done it myself, so I can't say either way.

I think you want to do your layers by mid summer and anticipate planting the layered limbs early fall. That is what I plan to do with my myrtle layers.

The key is to allow enough roots to grow inside your wrap that the new limb/plant can sustain itself when cut from the tree and planted on it's own.

I have three layers still on our crape myrtle. I will be cutting them off and planting them here in the next two weeks. They have been on the tree for about 10 weeks. All three have nice roots. The smallest branch used was around 1/4" and the largest was 3/4". Since I haven't planted them yet, I can't say whether or not my methodology is successful or not. :)

kdodds
Greener Thumb

When considering air-layering a graft, you have to consider why it was grafted in the first place. These maples are not branch-grafted to "fill out" or anything like that. They are grafted on to hardier root stock for a reason. The ungrafted top half generally has a very poor, very weak root system. You might think, "Well, the roots will be in a pot, not the ground, so why not?" But, the fact of the matter is that winter is a lot tougher on potted trees than it is on in-ground trees (barring perma-frost, in-ground trees benefit from geothermal heating). IF I were to try something like this, I would air-layer a less important branch in early spring and plan on keeping the tree itself in a heated (30-40ºF) greenhouse winter-round.

gbhunter77