silvertron
Newly Registered

bonsai newbie inorganic soil question.

hello.. I am wanting to go the inorganic route for my sweet plum and pomegranate tree... specifically using the kitty litter approach.. through my very limited research skills ive found out that napa auto parts (napa)store brand oil spill clean up sand is the exact same stuff that the europeans get out of their fired clay kitty litter.. will it be ok for me to use just the clean up sand.. or do I have to mix things with it to get the vitamins I need.... bare in mind I am a three day old beginner.. I understand over watering and under watering... ( it is the soil mixing that confuses me... ) through reading up on bonsai for me I was lead to believe that the fired clay, used in the kitty litter/napa oil spill sand, has everything the trees need..,. will it kill my tree if it is not mixed with anything else? as for the fruiting.... assuming no mixture is needed for my bonsais survival... will I need to add anything to the fired sand in order for it to bare fruit?.. thank you again for your help.... my poor little trees need to move in to their new homes, so they also thank you

kdodds
Greener Thumb

Can't help on the soils, but just wanted to let you know that you'll have to be VERY careful about keeping Sageretia in a completely inorganic mix. They do NOT like to have their feet dry, IME. This is part of the reason, I think, why they do so poorly indoors, or as bonsai in inorganic soils outdoors.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

There is some very good information already here about bonsai soils. It would probably help you to start by reading some of that, e.g.

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3422

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=223601#223601

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=192157#192157

tomc
Super Green Thumb