Qiutian
Newly Registered

Starting a Cork Oak Bonsai

Hi, I am new this forum and I am seeking some advice on starting a bonsai. I have been an amateur gardener for just over a year, and I have always been interested in trying to "bonsai."

A cork oak was given to me as a going away present. They are amazing trees and I wanted to keep it as a bonsai as I have no place for it. So I have been looking up all kinds of information on keeping cork oak and making it into a bonsai and I wanted some advice on caring for it.

Currently the cork oak is a sapling about 15 in tall with 3-5 branches and the trunk 1/2 in in diameter inside a 1/2 gallon tank, like a typical seedling. I am curious about how I should start it as a bonsai. My plan of attack, was re-potting it into a wider but shallow pot and pruning it into a small tree. As for pruning, when is the best time to start pruning the cork oak? What kind of soil would be best for a cork oak, and when do cork oaks go dormant? Since its a Mediterranean tree, wouldn't that be summer? Most of the information I have found are about deciduous oaks, and cork oaks are evergreen and specially adapted to a Mediterranean climate, which is kind of giving me a lot of uncertainty.

This also brings me to my next problem. I currently in Southern California, but I have to go to Syracuse, New York for school. I planned on bringing the bonsai there and trying to keep it alive. Is keeping a cork oak in a temperate, "4 season climate" feasible? I could take it inside and leave it next to the window for the worst parts of winter. I read that cork oaks cannot handle anything below 14 degrees but they can handle freezing temperatures. So could I keep it alive as long as I kept it safe from the cold? Course, if I keep it inside then sunlight becomes an issue.

Anyways, thanks for reading my novel of a post. I tried to be thorough in describing my problem.

TomM
Greener Thumb

Qiutian,

Welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy it here.