onstar28607
Newly Registered

Help with a poor sick tree!!! All help appreciated! Pictures

Hello there my friends, I am new to this forum and I have to say that it looks very promising. I want to first thank everyone who takes the time to look and read the following. I am very new to the art of the Bonsai and I am very excited. A new hobby is always exciting.

Ok, I have have included some pictures of the tree that I was given for Christmas from my father. He had the tree for about a month before I received it and it is, as you can see in poor health. My father heats his house with gas and that may have something to do with the health of the tree. When I was given the tree, it included no information and the leaves were starting to turn brown. Since that time, they have continued on that path and are continueing to turn brown or just wrinkle up. The soil is damp and I water it every couple of days when it seems like it is on the border of getting to dry.

I bought a book on Bonsais and judging from the pictures, I believe the tree may be a Chinese Elm. Hopefully from my pictures you can see if you agree with that or not. The book that I have is the Bonsai Care Manual by Colin Lewis.

The little tree looks like it has some new growth coming back, there is definitely some green leaves and shoots, but they looks as if they are not healthy as well.

If anyone can help me with with this little tree it sure would be awesome. I am already in love with this tree and would love for it to live.