Wort
Cool Member

Trident Maple Saplings ADVICE from experts

I have recently bought 5 Trident Maple saplings I live in Michigan and I'm in zone 6, it's winter time. I'm looking to turn them into a short fat stubby style of bonsai but, that comes later in life. First I have to keep them alive. [url=https://cgi.ebay.com/5-Trident-Maple-TREES-bonsai-starters-SALE-/290517744699]Here is a link of the description[/url]

When I get them what exactly should I do? I know maple's are outdoor trees spacifically. I have no problem admitting I'm a noob I've always been fascinated with bonsai but, I do have to learn if I want to do this right. Thanks to anyone who replies I appreciate it

-Justin

JTred
Green Thumb

I think you are going to have to let them grow out some before you can do anything. Depending on what exactly you want there are several options:

One is to let them grow out in the ground for a year or two, then chop them hard, basically to just under the height you want them to be when finished. I am doing something similar with a whip that was removed as a weed from my boss's garden. It's not a trident, but it is a maple.
A week after the chop:
[img]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v144/JTsoccer59/6-10-10007-1.jpg[/img]
Two weeks later:
[img]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v144/JTsoccer59/6-24-10002-1.jpg[/img]
I intend to make this into a small broom style bonsai.

You could also attempt to fuse multiple trunks, which I would also say you shouldn't try until after one or two years free growth. There used to be a great blog about a guy who used a TON of trident whips, fused together and to a shaped block of wood to create a tree in only a few years which would have taken decades with just one tree. Unfortunately that site has disappeared.

Wort
Cool Member