RedKestrel

Planning a root-over-fossil, what type of tree should I use?

Heh, I'm rather new to bonsai, but I've been hanging around here for a bit and I've seen a few root-over-rock bonsais I thought I'd try to use a fossil that is screaming at me to do a bonsai on it!

I've got pictures! :D

[img]https://lh3.ggpht.com/_PngHbpepnV0/TQOm7l8BbfI/AAAAAAAAAQ0/wZqjPTFyECE/s576/Fossil.jpg[/img]
the fossil part is about 2 inches across... possibly the largest fossil I've found outside a museum. I found it at my old house in NM before I moved to MN. Hah, I remember being terribly close to trying to bash off the excess rock, which might have destroyed the entire thing or made it too small for bonsai use. but I didn't! *phew!* :roll:

[img]https://lh5.ggpht.com/_PngHbpepnV0/TQOm8PR5ORI/AAAAAAAAAQ8/gClJfwUxVzw/fossil2.jpg[/img]

So, any suggestions on what kind tree I should use to get the best possible effect out of my bonsai-to-be?

Since it's a fossil, I figured an ancient-looking tree would work great, but I'm no expert and I'd like to do a tree that is easy for beginners and takes root-over-rock nicely. I was thinking some kind of coniferous tree would look good, but I don't know how well those do root-over-rock and how good they are for beginners... Really, whatever you think will work for this I'll look into. :)

JustinBoi
Green Thumb

I'm pretty new to the whole Bonsai thing, but I believe for that rock, it could use a Chinese Elm. I'm not sure how it would form onto a rock like that but you would have to research it.

I wasn't sure how old this species is so I looked it up.
[url]https://www.bonsaisite.com/chineseelm.html[/url]

It might help. I'm not sure.

Hope it helps, and goodluck.

froggy

Color wise I thought a japanese maple would look nice with that rock, but since you're a beginner (as am I) it might not be the easiest tree from what I've read...
Something really really green could do well too, like a ficus...