froggy

Good size tree to start with?

Hey there, I'm a newbie :D

when I first got a fish tank, I was told a 100 liter tank is easier for newbies than a 30 liter one (reason being it has a more stable eco system)...

now I am wondering: is there a size tree that is better suited for newbies than another? I read a 'normal' tree in about a gallon container would work well to start with, any opinions?

I am planning to start a few cuttings (lilac, willow and birch, maybe maple) this spring - if I can get them to grow to a decent size, I'm sure I learn enough to keep them alive whilst training...

but I was also thinking of getting a couple of plants to work on whilst the others grow...

So, what size would you recommend?

(looking at ficus and maybe a hibiscus or something else flowering (to get in spring))

thanks

Karin

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Karin,

when I first got a fish tank, I was told a 100 liter tank is easier for newbies than a 30 liter one (reason being it has a more stable eco system)...
There is a similar concept in bonsai. In general a larger tree will not be as effected by fluctuations in the moisture of the soil or temperatures swings. So, yes, a larger tree is more stable than smaller sizes. Mame bonsai, for instance, require a more assiduous approach to their care or they can easily suffer.
is there a size tree that is better suited for newbies than another? I read a 'normal' tree in about a gallon container would work well to start with, any opinions?
I'm not certain of the intent of the writer but often a one gallon size is suggested as a good compromise in size and price. A one gallon nursery tree is a reasonable size to choose if you intend to style your first tree. It won't cost and arm and a leg, should be readily available and if (when :?: :wink: ) you kill it, it won't devastate you emotionally.