the collecter

Overwintering??

This is the first year I've had my bonsai trees (and I have many now) so a garden is needed I know. I am in the process of making a Japanese style garden in my back yard. Since this is my first year doing this my garden is not ready and I don't have the matterials right now to continue to create my vission I have for this garden (it will take years to perfect).

My question:
All my plants are taken from the wild (they were outside trees), since my garden isn't finished I have no where to put my trees in the winter, what should I do with my trees during the winter months?

My tree inventory incudes:
Poplars
Mimosas
Rowans
Juniper
Ceders
Japnese Maples
And a few other unidentified trees I picked up from the wooded areas around my house

I know I can't bring in my juniper but with no garden what do I do with it and the rest of my trees?

All feedback is greatly appriciated
~the collecter~
The world would be much more peacefull if every one had a Bonzai

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Some people bury their trees ( pot and all) in soil or sawdust. If you have glazed pots, this is not an option because they will crack. But, placing the trees in a sheltered area and placing the straw around the pots to insultate them works well. Another option is to place the trees (including pot) into a larger pot and insulate this pot with some straw as well.

Don't forget to water your trees this winter. They need a lot less water in the winter but, they still need water.

All trees need their dormant period so, don't take them inside. The HG moves his trees inside his garage.

Lots of options

Gnome
Mod

Collector,