manofthetrees

conifer pruning

I am new to conifer bonsai,I have 2 maples and a fig tree .my question is about what season I should do a drastic pruning. I have just purchased a "pinus mungo" which has an 1 1/2 inch trunk ( don't no how old) and alot of long branches. I have read info on pruning so I have a basic idea of what I'm doing. the tree is nusery stock and needs exessive thinning and shortening of the branches. all branches have new growth and 1 to 3 new buds forming on the tips.most of the branches have 2 to 3 inches of needles on them so I have room to prune them without killing them. any info will be greatly appreitiated.[/I]

Moderators note: In another, nearly duplicate, thread the OP mentioned that this tree was recently repotted.

Marsman
Green Thumb

I'd love to see some pictures of your tree.

As for pruning, it's way too hot now to work on it. It will stress the tree.

[url=https://www.bonsai4me.com/AdvTech/ATMugo%20Pines%20Indepth.htm]This article may help you and your Mugo[/url]
Young Mugo pines will tolerate styling and repotting during the Summer. However, it is ordinarily recommended that the styling and wiring of Mugo pines is carried out in late Summer/early Autumn as with other Pine species

manofthetrees

thanks for the info. sorry I just posted relativly the same question today y'all can ignore that one I diidnt see it posted today :oops:.
anyway will cutting the branches shorter ( not candleing) result in backbudding or should I candle the branches,wait for backbudding and then cut them to the desired length? thanks again.
p.s ill see if I can get a picture it is a pinus muno 'sunshine' and it rushes in a lite yellow almost flower like pretty cool

manofthetrees

took a while but here the link for the pic. she needs some work but its a nice starter

[url=https://www5.snapfish.com/snapfish/thumbnailshare/AlbumID=1886858028/a=3558595028_3558595028/otsc=SHR/otsi=SALBlink/COBRAND_NAME=snapfish/]Link[/url]

Marsman
Green Thumb