jzero29

juniper help?

I recieved a juniper as a gift in the mail and have been watering it every day. The other day I noticed a white powdery looking substance on the trunk of my tree slightly above a dark almost wet looking trunk. Is this a fungus? I have only owned the tree for two weeks and I have noticed it during the first week don't know if it was like that from start or not? Possible over watering? under watering? fungus? need advice.

JoeLewko
Green Thumb

I'm no expert, but if I had to guess, id say it is some sort of fungus. You said you are watering every day. this is too much. you shouldnt weater the bonsai unless it needs it. stick a toothpick into the dirt, and if it comes out with no dirt sticking to it, it doesnt need water. You could possibly be overwatering it, which could in turn promote fungal growth. I would try slowing down the watering, and seeing what happens. ill do a little research about what the problem could be, and let you know what I find. Also, you may not have the right type of soil for the bonsai.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Jzero,

I know from another of your posts that you do not have a proper outdoor location to keep you trees. Junipers, as I mentioned, belong outside in a sunny location. Keeping a Juniper indoors is a recipe for failure. Beside that you are most probably providing way too much water, Junipers like to be kept on the dry side. Sorry, I know that this is not what you hoped to hear. Do some research on tropical species. A good book is "Bonsai in your home" by Paul Lesniewicz.

Norm

jzero29