kmw07
Newly Registered

Bonsai Beginner

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to bonsai via an unexpected birthday gift. I received 2 different trees. One is a blue star juniper and the other a zelcova. I was given these with little instructions for their care so any tips for beginners would be appreciated. Also, I've been reading some conflicting information about growing these strictly indoors. Is it possible or do they need to be outdoors? I live in Omaha and it's VERY cold right now. If they have to be outdoors, when would be the best time to move them out there? Can they really survive the harsh winds and snow here? Especially the juniper which is teeny?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!
[img]https://i68.servimg.com/u/f68/14/88/51/42/02120012.jpg[/img]
[img]https://i68.servimg.com/u/f68/14/88/51/42/02170011.jpg[/img][/img]

Marsman
Green Thumb

The juniper needs to be outside, but you need to take care. If it's been inside for a while, putting it directly outside will shock and kill it. Do you know where it came from, or can you ask the gift giver where they got it? You need to know it's history. As for them surviving outside, not to worry. They are perfectly equiped to handle the cold. In fact, they need a dormancy period each winter or they will weaken and die off. (Imagine what you would be like if you didn't get a good night's rest. It's similar to that.) [url=https://i956.photobucket.com/albums/ae50/marsman61/Bonsai/Display%20Bench/f818a3f1.jpg]My junipers are outside[/url] and doing just fine. We just got another 6 inches of snow and they are burried. Do you have an enclosed, unheated porch or a garage with a window you can place it in?

As for the zelcova, I don't have much experiance with them. I'm sure some others will post some tips for you.

djlen
Green Thumb